The killer follow-up app is you sending emails to people that want to hear from you.
No hoodwinking, black hat witchery, Jedi mind tricks, brainwashing, or unethical persuasion hacks needed.
Sending emails to people that asked to hear from you is the killer follow-up app in 2020.
Yet, why do so many people muck the simple up?
Why do so many of yous muck up the simple?
Are you not sure where to start? What to say? Do you have to much on your plate? Scared of the tech? Not sure of the €75,500 benefits?
This email marketing article is part II. This is Part I – How to run Facebook Competition (s) to win more clients.
If you are a Media spa, restaurant, hair salon and a retail business/brand that requires people in the door you must activate the following.
Don’t worry, this is Urban Renström, there is always science and research involved in everything I talk about.
Email Marketing – The Killer Follow-Up App
I’m not asking you to train to win an Olympic gold medal, set a world record, or win a national championship. Oh, no.
I want you, no, check that, you want you to set up a follow-up email marketing system. You want you to action this because you want €74,500 more in revenue in the next 18 months.
A simple email follow-up system is not difficult, nor will it suck your time like mindlessly scrolling through FB, IG, Tic-Toc.
Remove the guess work and grab a copy of Follow-up Templates below. ⇓
Get 5 Free ‘Facebook Contest Edition‘ Email Marketing Templates
Not sure what to say in an email? What to say after they enter your giveaway or drawing? Or worse, how to convert an email subscriber into a client? Grab the templates, simply copy, paste, and hit send. Simple!
Grab the templates: copy and paste the words in to your email marketing system. Change a word here or a phrase there. Then press send. That simple.
“Psst! Want a new leather sofa?“
Do Email Marketing like Jennifer Furniture does Leathers Sofas
Ever experienced the ‘retail deflection system’? That what?
The ‘retail deflection system’. It is when you walk into a store and a salesperson says, ‘can I help you?’
Jennifer Leathers (Jennifer Furniture?) does it different. When people walk in the salespeople say:
‘Have you been to Jennifer Leathers before?, This is how we work. All the sofas are available with any leather displayed on the back wall. All sofas are in stock for immediate delivery, and with lifetime warranty. My name is Dave I’ll be over here‘.
What do you think? Would that put you at ease? Would you feel comfortable to sit and dream?
Because, opening that way pours cold water on all the arguments shoppers have. Better yet it’s a different experience. Jennifer Leathers figured out the three biggest concerns of buyer. ‘Is the sofa available in my colour’, ‘when can it get it’, and ‘is there a warranty?’
People are interested in your products and services. In your email communication you only need to reassure them that you care and are the right business for them.
Think you can do that? I think know you can.
Here is what to say to get to yes faster.
What should you say in your Follow-up Emails?
Trust Is The Filter Through All Business Success Must Pass – Jay Baer
In your emails say ‘Can I help you?‘
A welcome email has many faces. As they build relationships and fosters trust. Welcome emails have four times the open rate and five times the click-through rate of a broadcast emails. Welcome emails work well because people are more brand aware the moments after interacting with your company.
Welcome emails are automatic so they work for you tirelessly.
So, what you say depends on which door people entered into your email marketing system. Here are three common open doors.
“I’ll take door number 1 Patrick” (a Wheel of Fortune reference)
Open Door #1) Entered via Contest, Competition, or Giveaway
Only 57.7% of brands send a welcome email to new subscribers, yet on average, welcome emails generate up to 320% more revenue than other promotional emails. (Source)
This welcome series is all about continuing the ‘what if I win’ feelings and conversation.
With all email-marketing please follow all local rules and regulations, including GDRP and Can-Spam.
Send the 1st autoresponder message immediately after the double opt-in. (link to lower in article for definitions section).
Open Door #2) Entered via a Lead Magnet
Lead magnets are an irresistible incentive, that people cannot refuse. The hook is the lead magnet is only redeem in email. Be careful and stay on the topic of the lead magnet.
Lead magnets examples:
Medispa – a coupon code, makeup cheat sheet, how to apply makeup video series, how to get baby smooth skin, Join VIP group.
Restaurant – redeem a coupon, a buy one get one offer, access to a behind the scene video series, access to VIP lounge, Cooking demonstrations, etc.
For a Hair salon – a free blow dry with hair cut, free bottle of shampoo with hair cut. Free hairstyle guide.
Retail business/brand – use a coupon code, a join a VIP program.
The newsletter entry point requires greater level of indoctrination and warming up of people as compared to door one or two.
Your indoctrination and warming is to get people to pick up the phone and make an appointment.
When to send Follow-up Emails
Here is an example of a time sequence for your follow up emails.
The Six best Email Marketing Home Truths
The biggest of all home truths is you must follow up with people to get a sale. And on average a sale requires five follow up message (that’s why the templates have 5 message – so get your copy).
- ½ of the people on your email list will buy from you! Of those 50%, 15% will buy in the first 90 days and the rest, 85%, will buy between 90 days – 18 months! – (source)
- Worse >2/3 of salespeople give up after sending one follow up message.
Read again – half will buy in the next 18 months! Follow up, follow up and nurture people.
- It’s a given people have to know you, like you, and trust you before they buy from you.
- People will signup and opt-in to your ‘newsletter’ if you give them a good reason – a cheat sheet, a checklist, a coupon, or as entry into a competition.
- Convincing people to buy from you requires at least five follow up message and half, 50% of sales happen after the fifth follow-up message (source).
- Brands (you and you and you!) earn $44 for every $1 dollar they spend on email marketing, source. What is your return on a FB post, IG story, or Snap?
Ok one more home truth.
- Email marketing is 20%, 1/5th, of companies’ overall revenue, up from 17% in 2016.
Getting people onto your email marketing list via competitions is ‘easy’. Getting sales from same list is not.
How a Killer follow-up Emails Produces €74,500 in Revenue in 18 Months
Here is the primary school math to get you €74,500 in more revenue.
E.g with 1000 people on your email list, from above 500 will buy from you.
Using an AOV (average order value) of €149.
75 people will buy in 90 days (15% of 500) and 425 (85% of 500) will buy 90 days – 18 months.
Multiplying 75 x €149 = €11,175 in extra revenue in 90 days.
Multiplying 425 x €149 = €63,325 in extra revenue 90 days – 18months.
so 90 revenue + 90-18 months revenue = total revenue.
€11,175 + €63,325 = €74500
Magically, you’ve now generated €74,500 in revenue in 18 months using a simple follow up email marketing system
How would €74,500 more in revenue in the next 18 months feel? Yeah, I thought so.
Down load the contest ready email templates today! Hit that red button!
Tell me in the comments your success with follow up emails.
(blue doors photo) by Michael Jin