Facebook Pixel Standard Events – Handpick the Brazen 8 for Maximum ROAS

Facebook Pixel

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Updates. Revisions. Changes. New Releases.

Why can’t they leave well enough alone?

Yes, why? It boils down to mega-giant tech fighting for control, power and money. Worse, your Privacy is the pawn in their online *game of thorns*.

What is a Facebook Pixel Standard Events and why only the Brazen 8?

Globally, any action a person takes on your website is an event. Or AN EVENT if your traffic and visitors are few and far between…

For example, if a person views a page, performs a search, completes a form, schedules a phone call, add a product to a shopping cart or makes a purchase, etc., all are all FB events.

If said person is logged into their Facebook, use an iPhone pre iOS14.5, or post iOS14.5 and allows Facebook to track then the Facebook Pixel *fires* and the event is logged by your pixel.

Events on your website can result from Facebook ads, Facebook post organic reach or a arrival from a search engine whilst logged into their Facebook.

Events are either Standard or Custom.

Facebook Standard events are predefined, common, conversion-related actions. See the below chart for a (partial) list of standard events.

Facebook pixel Custom events are actions that are not standard events, surprise! Custom events support parameters. For example the name of a product (content_name), currency,€, £, $ (currency), product id (content_ids) or Lifetime Value of a subscriber (predicted_ltv) or others.

Facebook pixel custom events are useful because you can place a value (€10, £10, $10) on an event. For example, if you know that an email subscriber is worth €10. Then when people submit their form and land on the thank you page the event fires and you know the value of the action.

Don’t worry, I am Urban Renström, there is always science and research involved in everything I talk about, teach, and demonstrate.

Why Care about Facebook Pixel Standard Events?

Care so you can track the actions people take on your website. Improve your Facebook Ads performance, your ROAS and stop wasting money!

Worse, the only way to run conversion campaigns and track actions (i.e. purchases, registrations) is using standard or custom events.

So before iOS 14.5, on April 2021, all 18 Facebook standard events were available. Now we get to choose only the brazen 8. Why 8? Because the iOS 14.5 Apple software change forced Facebook’s hand to change how people are tracked. The short, condensed, abridged version!

But, What is the Facebook Pixel?

The Facebook tracking pixel is an “analytics tool that allows you to measure the effectiveness of your advertising by understanding the actions people take on your website“.

The Facebook pixel is a small piece of code installed on your website. As hinted earlier, when a person visits your website, is logged into Facebook the pixel “drops a cookie onto their web browser that will track them…” This visit and specifically what action they take on your website is the event.

Let us be like mountain spring water clear – we cannot ‘open the pixel database‘ and see the personal details of people who visited your website.

The Facebook pixel is an odd-looking string of letters and numbers that make NO SENSE upon first glance, or second or third… simply close your eyes and install!

1- is the *head* section of your website.
2- is the Facebook Pixel base code
3- the Facebook Pixel Standard Event or Facebook Pixel Custom events code

This post walks you through on installing the pixel on your website.

I’m Confused by Which Facebook Pixel Standard Events Should I Choose?

So, each verified domain has 8 event slots are available. Which eight to choose depends on your business, website and advertising goals. And it depends on the stage of growth of your business.

Note, any of the eight can be changed at a later time – if your focus or goals change.

I’m #SorryNotSorry for the *it depends* answer. Because its still true.

But, choose the events that will send the data that is most valuable to your most critical business outcomes.

If you use purchase events with value optimization then this uses a at least 4 and maybe 8 event slots.

Choosing standard events for products (eCommerce) is different from services (lead generation). The eight Facebook standard events I choose for my clients and my own business are:

Services (lead generation) Events

  • View content
  • Complete Registration or Lead
  • Schedule
  • Contact
  • Add to Cart
  • Add Payment info
  • Purchase
  • Search

Products (eCommerce) Events

  • View content
  • Add to Cart
  • Initiate checkout
  • Add Payment info
  • Purchase
  • Add to Wishlist
  • Search
  • Customize product

Ok, Where Do I set up the Aggregated Events Measurements?

These are three preliminary step before you set up the standard events.

a) you must use the Facebook Business Manager and the admin has access to the pixels and domain.
b) Install and verify the Facebook Pixel on your website.
b) Verify your domain (www.my_website dot com) inside of Business Manager. Domain verification gives you domain ownership and control to edit Facebook Standard and custom events. See here about domain verification.

Once a and b are complete move on to setting up the Facebook Pixel Standard Events

Inside of your Business Manager click on the *hamburger* *1*.
then *2*, *Events Manager* and choose the appropriate pixel in the list.
*3* Towards the bottom, next to Pixel/Conversion API and click the *Aggregated Event Measurement*,
then *4*, *Configure Web Events*,
*5* Manage Events,
*6* Add Event,
*7* Choose a pixel (again if there are many)
*8* Handpick the Brazen 8 Standard Events.

The below table provides an explanation of 12 of the 18 standard events.

Definitions of Different Facebook Pixel Standard Events

These are the most common standard events.

Website ActionDescription
View contentA visit to a web page you care about. E.g. a blot post, service page, product or a landing page. The view content informs you if someone visited a specific URL. Not what they do or see on that web page.
Complete RegistrationSubmission of email, name etc., in exchange for a service provided by your business. E.g email signup.
SubscribeThe start of a paid subscription for a product or service you offer.
LeadSubmission of info, e.g. name, email, with the understanding that they will get contacted by your business. E.g. free trial, contact us.
ScheduleThe booking of an appointment to visit one of your locations.
Start trialThe start of a free trial of a product or service you offer. For example, a trial subscription.
Submit ApplicationThe submission of an application for a product, service or program you offer. For example, a credit card, educational program or job.
ContactA telephone, SMS, email, chat or other types of contact between a customer and your business.
Add to WishlistE.g. eCommerce wishlist. Clicking the *Add to Wishlist* button on a website.
Add to cartThe addition of an item to a shopping cart or basket.
Initiate checkoutThe start of a checkout process. For example, clicking a Checkout button.
Add payment infoAddition payment information during the checkout process. Adding an address, CC info etc.
PurchaseThe completion of a purchase, usually signified by receiving an order or purchase confirmation, or a transaction receipt. For example, landing on a Thank You or confirmation page.
Customize productThe customization of products through a configuration tool or other application your business owns.
DonateThe donation of funds to your organization or cause.
Find LocationWhen a person finds one of your locations via web, with an intention to visit. For example, searching for a product and finding it at one of your local stores.
SearchA search performed on your website, app or other property. For example, product or travel searches.

Configure Events to Use Aggregated Event Measurement

https://www.facebook.com/business/help/422408905612648

What to do with Facebook Pixel Standard Events

use the Facebook Standard and Facebook custom event in when using the Conversion Objective.

When a person visits your website, whilst logged in to Facebook, does something, e.g. views a page, Adds to Cart items, Complete a Registration, Initiates the checkout process, purchases a product or service or other normal non-custom actions, then what they do is a standard event.

“Events are initially pre-assigned by Facebook with the events that we believe matter most to your business based on recent campaign spend from all of the ad accounts advertising to that domain.” see here.

Because AppleTM changed the privacy setting in version iOS 14.5. Facebook adapted and changed how events are noted and tracked. The 18 are reduced to the brazen 8! And domains are limited to 8 conversion events for conversion optimization this is called Aggregated Event Measurement.

The Facebook pixel is a free tool from Facebook helping your track the actions people take on your website. The pixel also and importantly helps you measure how effective is your advertising campaign.

But, that is not all the pixel does. The pixel can also be used to show ads to the right people, find new customers, or retarget people who visited specific pages on your website or taken a desired action.

Two examples

1) With the Facebook Pixel. You advertised on Facebook and spend €1 and that brings one person to your website. This one person views your product/service and buys your €9 pdf. With the pixel, you can track that €9 purchase directly to your €1 ad spend. Your ROAS is 9.

2) Without the Facebook Pixel. You advertised on Facebook and spend €1 and that brings one person to your website. This one person views your product/service and buys your €9 pdf. You do not know if your €1 ad spends is the cause of your €9 purchase. Your ROAS is 0.

How long is a string?

It depends on the goals you’re trying to achieve. The above chart list 18 standard events you can choose from.

These are good starting group

  • View content
  • Complete Registration or Lead
  • Schedule
  • Contact
  • Add to Cart
  • Add Payment info
  • Purchase
  • Search

Only care if you care about your Facebook advertising spend.

Page view – fires on all pages of your website.

View content – is a conversion pixel you install on certain pages for remarketing.

Page View (PageView) event is:

The default pixel code fires the PageView event, which can be used to create Custom Audiences and custom conversions that match referral URLs. This event should not be removed as it may cause disruption to the aforementioned rules.

View Content (ViewContent) event is:

When a key page is viewed such as a product page, e.g. landing on a product detail page

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